SLPP district leaders sign nomination lists for 17 districts

SLPP district leaders sign nomination lists for 17 districts

SLPP district leaders sign nomination lists for 17 districts

Written by Staff Writer

11 Mar, 2020 | 8:28 pm

Colombo (News 1st) – The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna finalized the nomination list for 17 districts today. The District Leaders signed the nomination papers at the official residence of Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa in Colombo today.

Religious observances took place prior to the signing of the nominations in the presence of the Maha Sangha. A number of political leaders including President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and Former President Maithripala Sirisena were present during the occasion. Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa signed the nomination papers to contest the Kurunegala district at the auspicious time of 11AM today.

Dinesh Gunawardena from the Colombo district, Prasanna Ranatunga for the Gampaha district, Rohitha Abeygunawardena and Dullas Alahapperuma for the Matara district signed the nomination papers as district leaders.

Vasudeva Nanayakkara signed the nomination papers for the Ratnapura district, Ramesh Pathirana placed his signature as the leader for the Galle district. Mahindananda Aluthagamage signed nominations as the leader of the Kandy district, while Armugam Thondaman signed the nomination list from the Nuwara Eliya district.

Sanath Nishantha from the Puttalam district, Shashindra Rajapaksa from the Moneragala district, Nimal Siripala De Silva from the Badulla district, S.M. Chandrasena from the Anuradhapura district, Susantha Punchi Nilame from the Trincomalee district and Namal Rajapaksa from the Hambantota district signed their nomination papers afterward.

Kader Masthan signed nominations for the Vanni electoral district while Kanaka Herath signed the nomination list for the Kegalle district. District leaders for the Polonnaruwa, Digamadulla, Batticoloa, Jaffna and Matale Electoral districts did not sign their nomination papers.


Latest News