CBSL Governor in ‘Brexit committee’ irks State Minister

CBSL Governor in ‘Brexit committee’ irks State Minister

CBSL Governor in ‘Brexit committee’ irks State Minister

Written by Staff Writer

27 Jun, 2016 | 9:19 pm

After the exit of the United Kingdom from the European Union, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has appointed a committee to formulate a report on how Sri Lanka can deepen ties with Asia.

According to print media, the committee has been appointed by the Prime Minister after a report compiled by the Central Bank of Sri Lanka was handed over to him on June 25.

The report consists details of the impact Brexit, or the exit of the UK from the EU, has on the country.

The committee comprises of Senior Adviser to the Prime Minister Charitha Ratwatte, Adviser to the Ministry of National Policy R. Paskaralingam, Economist Dr. Indrajith Coomaraswamy, Dr. Saman Kalegama, Prof. Sirimal Abeyratne, Dr. Nishan De Mel, Chief Economist at the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce Anushka Wijesinghe, Murtaza Jafferjee and Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka Arjuna Mahendran.

Meanwhile, the State Minister of Finance Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena has called on Central Bank Governor Arjuna Mahendran, to step down from the committee appointed by the Prime Minister.

Speaking to media he noted:

He has submitted a letter noting that he is temporarily stepping down from his position. This is a committee that was appointed prior to this, so he now has a responsibility to step down from this committee too.”

” He should step down.  When he is acquitted he can go wherever he wants. He should act in a way that upholds the respect of that position and the respect of the president and the prime minister”, added the state minister.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]