Australia crowned World cup 2015 champions

Australia crowned World cup 2015 champions

Australia crowned World cup 2015 champions

Written by Staff Writer

29 Mar, 2015 | 4:32 pm

Mighty Australians claimed their fifth ICC cricket world cup on Sunday March 29, following their win over New Zealand by seven wickets in just 33.1 overs at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Winning the toss and batting first, New Zealand managed to score 183 runs in 45 overs. Starc, who opened the bowling struck in the very first over, taking the wicket of the Kiwi danger-man McCullum who had scored naught. New Zealand who lost their top three cheaply for just 39 runs were given life by Ross Taylor and Grant Elliot. A fourth wicket partnership between the pair (111 runs) led them post a score of 183.

Thanks for the efforts of Grant Elliot who went onto score 83 off 82 deliveries. James Faulkner and Mitchell Johnson picked three wickets each. However Starc, one of the best bowlers of the tournament, picked two for 20.

Chasing a target of 184 Michael Clarke’s 74 and Steven Smith’s unbeaten 56 took Australia to a comfortable seven-wicket win over New Zealand to claim the World Cup 2015 title.



Retiring  Clark who played his captain knock was bowled by Matt Henry with eight required, Clarke, in his final ODI, was given a standing ovation by the record 93,000 crowd and welcomed by his team-mates on the boundary edge.

Micheal Clarke was part of the Australia team that last lifted the trophy in 2007, with this success extending their record for most World Cups victories.

For New Zealand Matt Henry took two wickets for 46. James Faulkner walked away with the man of the match award.

Australia’s Mitchell Starc, adjudged the player of the tournament . He took 22 wickets at an average of 10.18, tilting the balance in his team’s favour throughout the tournament.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]