President appoints 5 member committee to probe terror attack

President appoints 5 member committee to probe terror attack

Written by Staff Writer

22 Sep, 2019 | 9:17 am

Colombo (News 1st) – Presidential Maithripala Sirisena has appointed a 5 member committee to look into the enactment of the law against those involved in the April 21st attack. The committee will be headed by Appeal Court Judge Janaka de Silva.

The committee also comprises of Appeal Court Judge Nissanka Bandula Karunaratne, Appeal Court Judge, Retired Appeal Court Judge Nihal Sunil Rajapaksa, Retired High Court Judge Bandula Kumara Attapattu and retired Ministry Secretary W.M.M.Adikari.

The President has noted that there are a number of complaints against state sector workers who were directly or indirectly involved in the attacks or who were aware of the attacks. The Committee has been tasked with taking action against such persons following an impartial inquiry and also to weed out those connected to terror cells.

The Committee has also been tasked with identifying the individuals or groups who were responsible for acts of public unrest and vandalism following the terror attack.

President Maithripala Sirisena has requested the committee to hand in its first interim report in 3 months and to hand over the final report signed by all members of the committee within 6 months.

Latest News