Presidential Election to feature 19 candidates (Watch Report)

Presidential Election to feature 19 candidates (Watch Report)

Written by Staff Writer

08 Dec, 2014 | 10:13 pm

Nineteen (19) candidates handed in their nominations on Monday for the 2015 Presidential Election. Seventeen (17) candidates represent accepted political parties while two independent candidates will also be contesting the next presidential poll

The submission of nominations was held under the auspices of the Elections Commissioner at the Election Secretariat in Rajagiriya. Security was beefed up in the area surrounding the Elections Secretariat in preparation for the accepting of nominations. Entry to the nominations hall was permitted only to several authorized individuals. Another seating area was allocated for party leaders, ministers, parliamentarians and special guests.

President Mahinda Rajapaksa submitted his nomination under the UPFA ticket while Common Opposition Candidate Maithripala Sirisena submitted his nomination from the New Democratic Front.

Following the submission of nominations, Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya allocated a time frame for filing objections. Subsequently, two objections were filed against the candidacy of President Mahinda Rajapaksa and the candidacy of Maithripala Sirisena.

The Commissioner quashed the objections. He called on the public to abide by the election laws and not engage in acts of violence. Candidates were seen exchanging wishes and greetings with each other following the submission of nominations.

The presidential election will be held on January 08.


Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]