Trinity crowned Rugby Champions of Hill Country

Trinity crowned Rugby Champions of Hill Country

Trinity crowned Rugby Champions of Hill Country

Written by Muaad Razick

27 Dec, 2021 | 5:12 pm

KANDY (News 1st): Trinity College Kandy clinched the Inter-School Central Province Sevens Rugby Championship beating Kingswood College Kandy 33 points to 07 at the Trinity Rugby Stadium in Pallekele on Monday (27) evening.

It was a clash of the gladiators as both Kingswood and Trinity stood out of the rest and dished out classy, entertaining, and free-flowing rugby sevens.

The lads from Randles Hill Kingswood drew first blood in the opening minute. However, the Trinity lions kept cool and scored two back-to-back tries, and converted a peach of kick from the left corner.

At lemons, Trinity led 14 – 07.

Scoring 3 more tries it was Trinity all the way in the 2nd half as they clinched the Cup Championship at home turf.

Interestingly Trinity College was All Island Sevens Champions in 2019.

The Kingswood – Trinity rugby encounter goes way back to many centuries as these two institutions were pioneers of Rugby in Sri Lanka with Kingswood being the first school to play the oval ball game followed by Trinity. Eventually, the first Inter-Collegiate rugby encounter was played between these two arch-rivals in 1906.

Sri Lanka schools rugby saw its redemption after almost two years with last week’s edition of the Western Province 7s.

The Kandy weather was picture perfect thorough out the day where some rugby was dished out by the hill country lads.

Emulating D.S Senanayake College from the Colombo’s leg it was Sri Sumangala College from Kandy who was the surprise package of the tournament as they sneaked through to the Plate final.

Dharmaraja College won the Plate championship defeating Sri Sumangala  College 26 points to 14

Rajans went on a rampage and scored 3 back-to-back converted tries and led 21 – 07 at the breather.

Come the second half the Sumangala lads played some fierce tactical rugby however the Rajans hit the nail on the coffin by scoring a try midway.

Vidyartha College won the bowl Championship defeating the lackluster St. Anthony’s College points 21 to 12.

At the short whistle scored were level at 7 all.

Minnows Sri Rahula College Kandy won the shield championship defeating once a rugby powerhouse  St. Sylvester’s College Kandy 26 points to 10.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]