Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga removed from position of SLFP organizer

Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga removed from position of SLFP organizer

Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga removed from position of SLFP organizer

Written by Staff Writer

17 Jan, 2020 | 10:30 pm

Colombo (News 1st): Former President Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga has been removed from her position as organizer of the Attanagala electorate. Senior Vice Chairman of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa said that Lasantha Alagiyawanna has been appointed as the new organizer of the Attanagala electorate.

The disciplinary inquiry against Dilan Perera, S.B. Dissanayake and Lakshman Yapa Abeyawardena who announced their support for then-candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa before the party officially announced their stance will end tomorrow (Jan 18).

The disciplinary inquiry against Vijith Wijayamuni Soyza who pledged his support to the candidate of the United National Front at the previous election will also conclude tomorrow.

Meanwhile, speaking to the media State Minister Thilanga Sumathipala expressed his views about the SLFP’s policy;

State Minister Thilanga Sumathipala: As the SLFP, we met at the Central Committee and agreed on policy issues. When selecting our candidates for the next election, we have thought that minimum qualification is essential for those who are ready to stand for election to set up a code of ethics. We can match political experiences. For higher education, we have not agreed to give our candidacy to any monk and not even to our party.

Journalist: How are you going to contest? Independently or as an alliance?

State Minister Thilanga Sumathipala: We can ask for any votes from any member party from 22 districts. We can use one symbol to ask for votes from about 16 to 22 districts and another symbol for the North East area. Last night we made a decision to take disciplinary action. Some are under disciplinary inquiries. They are to be expelled from the party. Chandrika Bandaranaike was in a firm position with UNP party members to work against Gotabaya Rajapaksa and if she rejoins then she will trouble the party and not us. It’s clear that the next representative for the next election from the SLFP will be a joint decision by Gotabaya Rajapaksa, Mahinda Rajapaksa, and Maithripala Sirisena. Our politics will not be determined on something like a logo.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]