Two UNP Non-Cabinet ministers in hot water with disciplinary committee

Two UNP Non-Cabinet ministers in hot water with disciplinary committee

Written by Staff Writer

14 Sep, 2019 | 8:29 pm

Colombo (News 1st) – Reports have surfaced of attempts to ban party membership of two non-cabinet ministers representing the United National Party. Several newspapers reported today (September 14), that the disciplinary committee of the UNP has decided to ban the membership of non-cabinet ministers, Ajith. P.Perera and Sujeewa Senasinghe.

The news reports further state, a permanent decision will be taken after the disciplinary committee hands over its decision to party leader, Ranil Wickremesinghe. Several social media reports also show that disciplinary action is to be taken against a minister of the UNP.

Meanwhile, in Mawanella today, journalists questioned Minister Kabir Hashim regarding news reports, claiming the minister’s preparation to resign from his position. Journalists quoted news reports that indicated that Minister Kiriella was pressurizing to take over the Ministry of Petroleum Resources from Minister Kabir Hashim.

In response to their question, Minister Kabir Hashim stated that according to his view those positions and titles are given to the people of the Kurunegala district, and not to him. He added that he is the only Cabinet Minister representing the Kegalle district noting that if they are to take over anything, they must take it from the people. “I only fight for the people”, he added.

Journalists further raised a question regarding the reason for such a takeover. He stated in response that he fights on behalf of his party to protect its policies. “Perhaps that could be the reason. I don’t know”, he continued.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]