SLC committee expresses views on SL squad for T20 World Cup 2016

SLC committee expresses views on SL squad for T20 World Cup 2016

SLC committee expresses views on SL squad for T20 World Cup 2016

Written by Staff Writer

08 Mar, 2016 | 1:50 pm

Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera made an announcement noting that Angelo Matthews is to lead the Sri Lankan Cricket team, at the ICC World T20.

Former Sri Lanka Test Cricket Captain Aravinda de Silva was appointed as Chief of Selectors at Sri Lanka Cricket. Kumar Sangakkara, Romesh Kaluvitharana, Lalith Kaluperuma and Ranjith Madurasinghe are the other members of the Selection Committee.

Minister of Sports, Dayasiri Jayasekara noted that they took a decision to appoint someone in the calibre of Aravinda de Silva as the chief selector as he has brought glory to the sport, and to the country.

In the same manner,  former captain Kumar Sangakkara, who garnered lot of respect from the world, and is much-respected by all, was appointed.

For the team, Angelo Mathews will captain the side, while Dinesh Chandimal will be the vice captain. Other members named are T.M. Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardene, Chamara Kapugedara, Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake and Lasith Malinga.

President of SLC, Thilanga Sumathipala stated that “they convened a meeting and came to a conclusion” and that he has never “seen such indecisions taken in the last minute.”

Chief Selector, Aravinda de Silva stated that he has never seen the Sri Lanka Cricket Team at such a low position at present.

Kumar Sangakkara noted that they need to mentally be able to face challenges that come their way when they are not prepared.

He added that in 2014 when they won the championship, they were not sure until the last night as to whether they will participate or not, So, in his experience, it is not something new.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]