General Elections 2015: Casting of votes begins

General Elections 2015: Casting of votes begins

General Elections 2015: Casting of votes begins

Written by Staff Writer

17 Aug, 2015 | 7:08 am

The casting of votes for the elections commenced at 7 a.m. Voting will conclude at 4 p.m.

Twenty two (22) electoral districts will go to the polls to elect 225 Members to Parliament.

Fifteen million forty four thousand and four hundred and ninety one voters have been deemed eligible to exercise their franchise at the elections today.

While a total of 6151 candidates will be contesting from accepted political parties and independent groups, 196 will be elected to the legislature.

The Colombo District will return the largest for a single district with 19 MPs, 18 MPs from Gampaha,10 MPs from Katutara , 12 MPs from Kandy , 5 MPs from Matale , 8 MPs from Nuwara-eliya , 10 MPs from Galle, 8 MPs from matara, 7 MPs from Hambantota , 7 MPs from Jaffna, 6 MPs from the Wanni electoral division, 5 MPs from Batticoloa, 7 MPs from Digamadulla, 4 MPs from Tricomalee , 15 MPs from Kurunegala , 8 MPs from Puttalam, 9 MPs from Anuradhapura, 5 MPs from Polonnaruwa , 8 MPs from Badulla, 5 MPs from Monaragala , 11 MPs from Ratnapura and 9 MPs from the Kegalle electoral division.

6151 candidates are said to be contesting for this years general elections with 792 from Colombo, 588 from Gampaha, 286 from Kalutara, 468 from Kurunegala, 264 from Puttalam, 96 from Moneragala, 165 from Badulla, 221 from Galle, 187 from Matara, 170 from Hambonthota, 242 from Anuradhapura, 88 from Pollonnaruwa, 280 from Ratnapura, 228 from Kegalle, 253 from Nuwara Eliya, 360 from Kandy, 176 from Matale, 147 from Trincomalee, 368 from Batticaloa, 310 from Ampara, 210 from Jaffna and 252 from Wanni.

According to Elections Commisioner Mahinda Deshapriya the 2015 General Elections will be held under the 2014 Electoral List.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]