Central Provincial Council files No Confidence Motion

Central Provincial Council files No Confidence Motion

Central Provincial Council files No Confidence Motion

Written by Tharushan Fernando

17 Apr, 2015 | 9:32 pm

A No Confidence Motion was handed over on Friday against P.D. Dissanayake, the Chief Minister to the Assistant Secretary of the Council, by a group of opposition councillors of the Central Provincial Council.

Central Province Opposition Leader, Ranjith Aluvihare noted that 19 councilors had signed the No Confidence Motion. One third of the 58-member Central Provincial Council had signed the motion.

Leader of the Opposition Ranjith Aluvihare,  stated that 19 members including one ruling party councillor, members of the Muslim Congress and Tamil Parties had signed the motion. He went on to add that the chief minister has made many mistakes through the ministries under him, and that corruption had occurred and none of it has been inquired into.

Central Provincial Councilor Chanaka Ailapperuma noted that nine charges had been submitted against the Chief Minister. Ailapperuma went on to add that the charges included allegations of corruption in the construction of the Provincial Council building, the Digana Stadium, corruption in the Passenger Transport Authority and corruption at the Mahinda Rajapaksa IT Institute in Getambe.

UNP Councillor, Renuka Herath stated that the vote called for the No Confidence Motion will be victorious. She went on to add that no names will be revealed however and that the necessary steps will be taken at the appropriate time. She further added that Thilina Bandara Tennakoon has been nominated as the Chief Minister.


Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]