ICC Board to investigate “apparent govt interference” in SLC

ICC Board to investigate “apparent govt interference” in SLC

ICC Board to investigate “apparent govt interference” in SLC

Written by Staff Writer

16 Apr, 2015 | 10:13 pm

The ICC Board has considered the implications of the appointment of an Interim Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) by the Government of Sri Lanka and whether this may be a breach of the ICC’s constitution which requires free and fair elections for office-bearers within Member Boards.

After considerable discussion, and without making a final decision on the matter, the ICC Board supported a recommendation of the ICC Governance Review Committee that it should write to the Sports Minister of Sri Lanka seeking a full and proper explanation of its intervention that prima facie puts SLC in breach of the ICC’s constitution.

The Board further decided that, pending the satisfactory resolution of this matter, the next financial distribution due from the ICC to SLC will not be advanced to SLC and will, instead, be held in an escrow account.

Notwithstanding the Board’s decision, Mr Nuski Mohamed – a nominee of the Interim Committee – was given the opportunity to provide information about the status of the Interim Committee, following which he was invited to attend the ICC Board meeting as an observer on behalf of the interests of cricket in Sri Lanka. Unfortunately, Mr Mohamed declined to attend the meeting on these terms and as a result there was no representative from Sri Lanka at the meeting.

The recent media comments of the Sri Lankan Sports Minister suggesting that the ICC was ‘colluding’ with former SLC officials were also noted and the ICC Board expressed its disappointment over the inaccurate nature of these comments. Moving forward, the ICC hopes to progress the matter constructively with the Government of Sri Lanka for the good of all cricketing interests in Sri Lanka.

The ICC Board consists of the nominated representatives of each of the ten full members plus three elected associate member representatives. The meeting is chaired by Mr Narayanaswami Srinivasan. Also present is the ICC Chief Executive.

ICC Chairman                                                Narayanaswami Srinivasan
ICC Chief Executive                                      David Richardson
Australia                                                          Wally Edwards
Bangladesh                                                      Nazmul Hassan
England                                                            Giles Clarke
India                                                                  Narayanaswami Srinivasan
New Zealand                                                    Greg Barclay
Pakistan                                                            Shaharyar M. Khan
South Africa                                                     Chris Nenzani
Sri Lanka                                                           No attendee
West Indies                                                       Dave Cameron
Zimbabwe                                                          Wilson Manase
Associate Member Director (Bermuda)      Neil Speight
Associate Member Director (Namibia)        Francois Erasmus
Associate Member Director (Singapore)      Imran Khawaja

Source: www.icc-cricket.com

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]