Request submitted to Central Province Governor to replace CM

Request submitted to Central Province Governor to replace CM

Written by Bella Dalima

15 Jan, 2015 | 9:41 pm

A request has been submitted to the Governor of the Central Province to appoint Thilina Bandara Tennakoon as the Chief Minister of the Central Provincial Council.

This request has been forwarded by 34 councillors.

Opposition Leader of the Central Provincial Council Ranjith Aluvihare and a group of opposition councilors had submitted a request to Governor Tikiri Kobbekaduwa while proceedings of the council were underway, presided by Chief Minister Sarath Ekanayake.

According to the Governor of the Central Province, the councillors made this request via affidavits. The Governor went on to say that 32 of the councillors visited his office to confirm this request.

Governor Kobbekaduwa said that as Sarath Ekanayake, the current chief Minister also represents the UPFA, advise needs to be sought from the Sri Lanka Freedom Party to act in this regard.

He went on to say that advise from the Attorney General will also be sought for this. Meanwhile, the opposition of the Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council convened a media briefing on Thursday evening.

The United People’s Freedom Alliance holds a majority in the Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council with 28 councillors while the UNP Opposition holds only 14 seats.

The CWC has two seats in the Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council.

However, with the announcement of the Presidential Election, Leader of the Council Jayatissa Ranaweera pledged support to President Maithripala Sirisena.

The United People’s Freedom Alliance holds power in the Western Provincial Council with 56 seats, however, its composition changed with 4 councilors pledging support to Maithripala Sirisena.

However, two members each from the Democratic Party and the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress joined the UPFA.

Opposition Leader of the Uva Provincial Council, Harin Fernando, took oaths as the Chief Minister of the Province on Wednesday.

Harin Fernando received the support of 18 provincial councillors including 12 from the UNP and six from the UPFA.

UPFA councillors of the North Western Provincial Council, Ashoka Vadigamangawa and Lakshman Wedaruwa, have pledged support to Maithripala Sirisena.

The opposition was strengthened with the crossover of the SLMC which also holds two seats in the council.

The composition of the North Central Provincial Council, where the UPFA holds 21 seats, also changed following the announcement of the presidential election.

This was following the crossover of provincial minister Peshala Jayaratne and councilor P.B. Dissanayake.

However, the opposition leader of the council, Kings Nelson, pledged support to the UPFA.

Power in the UPFA governed Eastern Provincial Council too is now uncertain. This was following the crossover of the seven SLMC councilors and two ACMC councilors.

The number of opposition seats increased further following the crossover of a National Congress Councillor and Councillor Priyantha Pathirana.

While, the balance of powers appears to have shifted in these provincial councils, the status quo has been maintained in the Southern and Northern Provincial Councils.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]