SJB, NPP, Dullas fail to nominate MPs to National Council

SJB, NPP, Dullas fail to nominate MPs to National Council

SJB, NPP, Dullas fail to nominate MPs to National Council

Written by Zulfick Farzan

23 Sep, 2022 | 1:17 pm

COLOMBO (News 1st); Members of Parliament have been nominated by the respective political parties to serve in the National Council.

However, the Samagi Jana Balavegaya, National People's Power, and the Dullas Alahapperuma faction did not nominate members to the National Council.

National Council will consist of the Speaker of Parliament as the Chair, the Prime Minister, the Leader of the House of Parliament, the Leader of the Opposition in Parliament, the Chief Government Whip and not more than thirty-five Members of Parliament representing the Ninth Parliament from recognised Political Parties in Sri Lanka as determined by the Leaders of the Political Parties.

The resolution proposed by the Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena to constitute the Parliament Committee called the “National Council” was passed in parliament without objection.

The National Council will have the jurisdiction and general responsibilities in order to,

(i) determine the general priorities of Parliament to guide the formulation of short, medium and long-term national policies

(ii) agree on short and medium-term common minimum programs in respect of the stabilisation of the economy

(iii) arrange special meetings with the Ministers of the Cabinet of Ministers, the National Council, the Chairpersons of the Special Committees and Youth observers of Youth Organisations

The National Council will be empowered to request reports from Sectoral Oversight Committees, Committee on Public Finance, Committee on Public Accounts, Committee on Public Enterprises, Committee on Banking and Financial Services, Committee on Ways and Means, Committee on Economic Stabilisation; and any committee controlling the public finance. The quorum of this National Council shall be 10 Members. 

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]