Nominations for National Council made public

Nominations for National Council made public

Nominations for National Council made public

Written by Teena Marian

23 Sep, 2022 | 3:22 pm

COLOMBO (News 1st) – Sri Lanka's Parliament Speaker presented the list of members of Parliament today (23) who were nominated for the 'National Council', which was established as per the proposal of Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena, consisting of members representing the Parliament of the recognized political parties. 

The Chief Government Whip presenting and amendment stated that  the National Council will consist of the Hon. Speaker as the Chair, the Prime Minister, Leader of the House of Parliament, the Leader of the Opposition in Parliament, the Chief Government Whip, the Chief Opposition Whip and not more than thirty-five (35) Members of Parliament.

Members of Parliament nominated to the 'National Council' established are as below.

The MPs who will be included in the National Assembly currently presented to the Parliament are as follows.

Members of Parliament Douglas Devananda, Naseer Ahmed, Tiran Alas, Sisira Jayakodi, Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan, Johnston Fernando, Rauf Hakeem, Pavitradevi Vanniarachchi, Vajira Abeywardena, A.L.M. Ataullah, Professor Tissa Witharana, Rishad Badiuddin, Wimal Weerawansa, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Palani Digambaram, Mano Ganesan, Udaya Gammanpila, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Namal Rajapaksa, Jeevan Thondaman, G.G. Ponnambalam, Pujya Athuraliye Rathana Thera, Asanka Navaratne, Ali Sabri, C.V. The names of Mr. Wigneswaram, Weerasumana Weerasinghe, Sagara Kariyawasam have been submitted so far.

The names of another group of parliamentarians are to be received, so they are scheduled to be announced in the near future.

The National Assembly resolution submitted by Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena to the Parliament on 20.09.2022 was passed in the Parliament without objection.

Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena said that it is the prime task of the 'National Assembly' to guide the formulation of short, medium and long-term national policies with the agreement of all parties.

Another responsibility is to agree on short- and medium-term common minimum programs related to economic stabilization.

The Prime Minister mentioned that it is also assigned to organize the activities for the special meetings attended by the Ministers of the Council of Ministers, the National Assembly, the chairpersons of the special committees and the youth observers of the youth organizations.

The 'National Council' also has the power to call for reports from the Sectoral Monitoring Committees, the Committee on Government Finance, the Committee on Government Accounts, the Committee on Public Enterprises and any committee that controls government finances.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]