GotaGoGama on for 42nd Day at Galle Face

GotaGoGama on for 42nd Day at Galle Face

GotaGoGama on for 42nd Day at Galle Face

Written by Teena Marian

20 May, 2022 | 11:14 am

COLOMBO (News 1st); The Occupy Galle Face peaceful protest also known as GotaGoGama today (20) for the 42nd Day.

Peaceful protestors keep demanding the immediate resignation of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Many people engaged in the protest to represent various professions.

In the meantime, detectives from Sri Lanka’s Criminal Investigations Department (CID) recorded statements from several MPs concerning the attacks on the GotaGoGama & MynaGoGama peaceful protest sites in Colombo.

Accordingly, MPs Rohitha Abeygunawardena, C. B. Ratnayake, and Sanjeewa Edirimanne, all from the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, had provided statements to detectives.

SSP Nihal Thalduwa, the Police Spokesperson, speaking to News 1st said that statements are to be recorded from another 4 MPs.

Detectives said they will be recording statements from seven Parliamentarians on Wednesday (18) concerning the attacks on peaceful protests at the GotaGoGama and MynaGoGama protest sites on the 9th of May 2022.

SLPP MPs Milan Jayathilake, Sanath Nishantha, and two others who were arrested over their involvement in the attacks on the GotaGoGama and MynaGoGama peaceful protest sites were remanded to the 25th of May by the Colombo Fort Magistrate’s Court on Wednesday (18).

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]