Major setback to Imran: Major ally decides to part ways

Major setback to Imran: Major ally decides to part ways

Major setback to Imran: Major ally decides to part ways

Written by Zulfick Farzan

30 Mar, 2022 | 11:17 am

Pakistan’s Prime Minister Imran Khan has lost the majority in the National Assembly as MQM-P has decided to join hands with the combined Opposition to support their no-confidence motion against the PM.

Following the late-night development, the PTI-led government lost the majority in the lower house.

The National Assembly is expected to vote on April 3rd after the no-confidence motion is tabled against PM Khan.

With 177 members, the Opposition now has more numbers in the National Assembly and they do not need the support of disgruntled PTI MNAs. On the other hand, the government is left with the support of only 164 members of parliament.

The MQM-P’s decision to side with the Opposition came after both sides signed a draft prepared by Administrator Karachi Murtaza Wahab.

Pakistani opposition legislators have launched a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan in parliament, hoping to remove Khan’s government amid accusations he has mismanaged the nation’s economy.

The house will begin a debate on the motion on Thursday and a vote is to be held within seven days.

Shehbaz Sharif, the opposition leader in the National Assembly or lower house of the parliament, proposed the no-confidence motion against Khan on Monday.

An alliance of opposition legislators, called the Pakistan Democratic Movement, has been trying to woo Khan’s coalition partners away, some of whom seemed ready to desert him.


PTI — 155
PML-Q — 4
GDA — 3
AML — 1
BAP — 1
Total: 164


PML-N — 84
PPP — 56
MMA —14
BAP — 4
BNP-M — 4
Independent — 4
ANP — 1
JWP — 1
JI — 1
MQM-P — 7
PML-Q — 1

Total: 177

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]