Asalanka, Hasaranga in ICC T20 Most Valuable Team

Asalanka, Hasaranga in ICC T20 Most Valuable Team

Asalanka, Hasaranga in ICC T20 Most Valuable Team

Written by Staff Writer

15 Nov, 2021 | 6:11 pm

COLOMBO (News 1st) ; After Australia clinched their maiden T20 world title , the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday (15) named its Most Valuable Team of the Tournament . Outstanding players from champions Australia, runners-up New Zealand, semi-finalists England and Pakistan as well as Sri Lanka and South Africa feature in the star-studded line up.

This is the first time that no Indian cricketer is included in the squad announced by the ICC.

Sri Lanka star Wanindu Hasaranga the number one ranked men’s T20 bowler in the world as well as  tournament’s leading wicket-taker and Charith Asalanka, who was the tournament’s top run-scorer when the Lions exited the tournament have been included in the team.

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam has been named as the captain. Incidentally Babar was the only batter to break the 300-run mark in the tourney.

Asalanka slots in at No.4 after his match-winning performance of 80 not out off just 49 balls against Bangladesh.

A further 68 against the Windies soon followed as he scored 231 runs at an average of 46.20 throughout the course of the tournament.

Hasaranga completed the middle order slotted in at No.7, and stands tall as the tournament’s leading wicket-taker with a stunning 16 wickets.

‘Waniya’ as he is fondly known is arguably the island nation’s most famous cricketer, bagged a scintillating hat-trick against South Africa to etch his name into ICC Men’s T20 World Cup legend.

Taking his place as 12th man is Pakistan prodigy Shaheen Shah Afridi, who started his tournament in style with a sublime spell against arch rivals India.

The selection panel comprised commentators, former international players and journalists Ian Bishop (Convenor), Natalie Germanos, Shane Watson, Lawrence Booth – of Wisden, the Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday – and Shahid Hashmi of Agence France Presse.

The ICC reported quoting Ian Bishop “As with any team selection there will be varying opinions, and robust discussion on the final composition of the squad. The panel respects that, and we encourage the strong debate that will ensue. This team was incredibly difficult to select over such a highly competitive tournament. Selections were based predominantly on the Super 12 onward to the final.”

The Most Valuable team of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 (in batting order) is:

1. David Warner (Australia) – 289 runs at 48.16
2. Jos Buttler (wk) (England) – 269 runs at 89.66, five dismissals
3. Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan) – 303 runs at 60.60
4. Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka) – 231 runs at 46.20
5. Aiden Markram (South Africa) – 162 runs at 54.00
6. Moeen Ali (England) – 92 runs at strike rate of 131.42, 07 wickets at 11
7. Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) – 16 wickets at 9.75
8. Adam Zampa (Australia) – 13 wickets at 12.07
9. Josh Hazlewood (Australia) – 11 wickets at 15.90
10. Trent Boult (New Zealand) – 13 wickets at 13.30
11. Anrich Nortje (South Africa) – 09 wickets at 11.55
12th player : Shaheen Afridi  (Pakistan)   – 07 wickets at 24.14

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]