Mahela among greats inducted to ICC Hall of Fame

Mahela among greats inducted to ICC Hall of Fame

Mahela among greats inducted to ICC Hall of Fame

Written by Amani Nilar

13 Nov, 2021 | 4:44 pm

COLOMBO (News 1st); England’s Janette Brittin, South Africa’s Shaun Pollock and Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardena have been added to the ICC Hall of Fame.

Brittin, who played 27 Tests and 63 ODIs for England between 1979 and 1998, is among the greatest batters to have played women’s cricket, She is also the greatest run-scorer (1935 at 49.61), century-maker (five) and appearance maker (27) in women’s Test history.

However, Brittin passed away from cancer at the age of 58 in 2017. She is the 31st English player to join the Hall of Fame.

The son of former South Africa Peter Pollock and nephew of ICC Hall of Famer Graeme Pollock, Shaun Pollock went on to play 108 Tests, 303 ODIs and 12 T20Is across 13 years after making his Test debut in 1995 against England.

Although it was with the ball that Pollock was truly special, as a batter he stood out as well, managing three centuries in total. Two of those hundreds came in Test cricket, in which he made 3781 runs at an average of 32.31 with a further 16 half-centuries to boot.

A giant of Sri Lankan cricket, Jayawardena played 652 international matches, comprising 149 Tests, 448 ODIs and 55 T20Is. Only India’s Sachin Tendulkar played more international matches, pipping the Sri Lankan by 12 games.

A classy right-hander who scored runs relentlessly and captained his nation superbly, Jayawardena’s 149 Tests are the most by a Sri Lankan, as are his 448 ODIs (12,650 runs at 33.37, 19 centuries) where globally only Tendulkar (463) played more matches.

He is Test cricket’s ninth greatest run-scorer with 11,814 to his name at an average of 49.84, making the sixth most Test centuries in the format’s history. Among his 34 centuries is the famous 374 – Test cricket’s fourth-highest score – he made in the midst of a record-setting 624-run stand with close friend Kumar Sangakkara against South Africa in 2006.

A two-time Cricket World Cup runner-up, Jayawardena made a dashing 103 in the final of 2011.

Denied men’s ODI cricket’s most cherished trophy twice, he was also part of the Sri Lankan sides that finished second in the 2009 and 2012 T20 World Cups. In 2014 he finally got his hands on some long-awaited silverware, carried off the field on the shoulders of his teammates as he won the T20 World Cup final in his last appearance in the format.

He bowed out of international cricket the following year at the end of Sri Lanka’s Cricket World Cup 2015 campaign.

Jayawardena is the third Sri Lankan inducted to the Hall of Fame, along with two others Kumar Sangakkar and Muttaiah Muralitharan.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]