SL first country where Delta has three mutations

Sri Lanka first country where Delta variant has three mutations - Dr. Jeewandara

by Zulfick Farzan 21-08-2021 | 10:10 AM

COLOMBO (News 1st); Sri Lanka is the first country where the Delta variant with three mutations has been reported, said Dr. Chandima Jeewandara, the Head of the Department of Immunology and Molecular Biology on Friday (20).

He told News 1st that researchers identified three mutations of the Delta variant spreading in Sri Lanka and in the Colombo city, the Delta variant with all three mutations is dominant.

"The A701S mutation has only been reported from Sri Lanka, while the A1078S mutation has been only reported from Sri Lanka and Malaysia. The rapid spread of the Delta variant is due to the A222V mutation," he said.