Who are the ministers in-charge of the environment?

Who are the ministers in-charge of the environment?

Who are the ministers in-charge of the environment?

Written by Staff Writer

18 Mar, 2021 | 6:58 pm

Colombo (News 1st); The Sri Lankan government appointed three ministers to act on environmental issues faced by the people that have gone unsolved for many years, including the human-elephant conflict. 

Who is the Minister of Environment?

Mahinda Amaraweera is the Ministry of Environment and the following institutions are vested under him.

1. Central Environmental Authority
2. Geological Survey and Mines Bureau
3. GSMB Technical Services (Pvt.) Ltd.
4. Sri Lanka Climate Fund (Pvt.) Ltd

Who is the State Minister for Wildlife Protection?

Wimalaweera Dissanayake is the State Minister of Wildlife Protection, Adoption of Safety Measures including the Construction of Electrical Fences and Trenches and Reforestation and Forest Resource Development.

Who is the Minister of Wildlife & Forest Conservation?

C. B. Rathnayake is the Minister of Minister of Wildlife & Forest Conservation.

The State Timber Corporation is directly under the Minister and one main function is to increase Sri Lanka’s forest density while also implementing modern programmes to minimize damages caused by wild animals to housing, property, and cultivations in rural areas.

There are growing challenges with respect to the environment in a backdrop where three separate ministers have been appointed to act on environmental issues.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]