‘Work from Home’ period declared from April 6 to 10

‘Work from Home’ period declared from April 6 to 10

‘Work from Home’ period declared from April 6 to 10

Written by Staff Writer

05 Apr, 2020 | 12:54 pm

COLOMBO (News1st): The government on Sunday declared a work from home period from April 6 to 10 for the private and public sectors.

The President’s Office in a statement said the curfew in 19 districts will be lifted at 6 am tomorrow (April 6) and will be re-imposed at 2 pm on the same day.

However, the curfew in the Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna districts will be in effect until further notice.

Meanwhile, entering or leaving certain areas which have been isolated in the Colombo, Kalutara and Kandy districts will be prohibited until further notice.

Traveling between districts too is strictly prohibited except for essential services, the statement issued by the President’s Office noted.

On the same lines, the statement warned that strict legal action will be taken against those who misuse the permission granted to travel for essential services.

The government said farming activities and those involved in the production of export crops such as tea will be permitted to continue operations while the curfew is in effect.

The public has been requested to abide by these regulations as they have been enforced to curb the spread of COVID-19 which has claimed five lives in the country.

Latest News