SLFP names the 5 national list MPs facing disciplinary inquiries

SLFP names the 5 national list MPs facing disciplinary inquiries

Written by Staff Writer

04 Sep, 2019 | 9:17 pm

Colombo(News1st) – The Sri Lanka Freedom Party has decided to take disciplinary action against 5 national list MPs for defecting from the party.

General Secretary of SLFP, Dayasiri Jayasekara stated that they have sent letters on taking disciplinary action against National List MPs who defected to the UNP and the SLPP. He further mentioned that the 5 MPs should show cause within a week regarding their decision, the party, and their actions.

General Secretary of UPFA, Mahinda Amaraweera stated that the letters were issued to SB Dissanayake, Dilan Perera, AHM Fowzie, Vijith Wijayamuni Soysa and Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena adding that they had entered from the national list and defected from the SLFP.

Dayasiri Jayasekara mentioned that it is clearly stated, one can be removed from the party after seven days noting that the process had to end within a month according to the party’s legal framework. Thereafter, he continued that if they wish they could seek legal action. He reasoned that according to the 19th amendment to the constitution if an MP obtains membership of another party, he or she loses the parliamentary seat.

Journalists raised a question referring to the matters they are handling currently as a result of former President Mahinda Rajapaksa’s doing and what actions would be taken against him.

Mahinda Amaraweera stated in response “if I do not issue a letter as the General Secretary of the UPFA while parliamentary seats are abolished by the Parliamentary Select Committee for obtaining membership of the SLPP , and if the party leader did not support, and if the parliamentary group did not reach such a decision, then we are not MPs”. He further continued that SLFP while being progressive together with the left parties, must contest the elections adding that they will continue with this process.

Mahinda Amaraweera stated that they do not intend to take any action against Mahinda Rajapaksa but intend to work to have more positive talks.

Meanwhile, a group of former ministers who have left their ministerial portfolios and the party, are still residing in the official residences granted to them. A.H.M. Fowzie, being one of the ministers anticipating disciplinary action is also included in the list of not having vacated his official residence.

National Organizer of National Election Monitoring Centre, Attorney-at-Law Rasanga Harischandra mentioned that more than 20 reports have been made regarding politicians who live in houses that do not belong to them.
He further highlighted that according to the 1969 Act on Recovery of Possession of Houses, it is a clear violation of the law. He reasoned that Parliament being where MPs are elected to establish the law, it is saddening that the people in parliament are violating the law instead.
He further added that Secretary to the Ministry of State Administration and the General Secretary of Parliament have the authority to implement the law against such people. He noted that there are those who remain in these houses by paying a certain amount from their salaries to the government which he claimed is not illegal. “But we can clearly state that majority do not make a payment to the government”, he continued.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]