President honours outstanding citizens at National Awards ceremony

President honours outstanding citizens at National Awards ceremony

Written by Staff Writer

19 Aug, 2019 | 10:04 pm

COLOMBO (News 1st) – The National Awards ceremony for the year 2019 was held under the auspices of President Maithripala Sirisena today (August 19) at the BMICH.

National awards such as Deshamanya, Sri Lanka Ratna, Deshabandu, Vidyajothi and Kalakeerthi were awarded to citizens who served the country in different capacities.

Ajith De Soyza, Professor Indrajith Coomaraswamy, Meril Joseph Perera, Moragoda Christopher, Walter Pinto, Professor Mohan Munasinghe and Professor Surath Wickremesinghe were presented with the Deshamanya awards.

The commanding officer of the Police Special Task Force Senior DIG M.R. Latiff was awarded the Deshabandu award.

Edwin Ariyadasa, Sugath Tilakarathne and Professor Wimal Dissanayake were presented with the Deshabandu Award, while special representative of Japan Yasushi Akashi was presented the Sri Lanka Rathna award.

The Deshabandu award was also presented to Anura Punchi Bandara Tennakoon, Anslem Boniface Perera, Professor Raja Sarath Bandara, Professor Lakshman Dissanayake, Professor Shirajini Niriella and Professor Nimal Herath Sadaratne.

Veteran dramatist Jerome L. de Silva was awarded the Kalakeerthi award for his extraordinary achievements and contribution to arts, culture and drama.


Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]