Ministry of Health bans 8 drugs for Dengue

Ministry of Health bans 8 drugs for Dengue

Ministry of Health bans 8 drugs for Dengue

Written by Staff Writer

08 Aug, 2019 | 4:00 pm

Colombo (News1st) – The Ministry of Health has notified doctors to prevent prescription of Nonsteroidal Anti-inflammatory Drugs (NSAID) including Aspirin, for Dengue patients.

The notice issued by the Ministry of Health indicated that NSAID such as Aspirin, Ibuprofen, Diclofenac sodium, and Mefenamic acid should not be prescribed to those suffering from Dengue.

Apart from the above-mentioned drugs, steroid drugs such as Prednisolone, Methylprednisolone, and Dexamethasone should not be prescribed to Dengue patients according to the Ministry.

According to reports received from several places in Sri Lanka, the Ministry of Health stated that the condition of dengue patients had worsened due to the use of the above-mentioned drugs. Prescribing the aforesaid drugs could have lethal repercussions on a dengue patient.

The Ministry of Health requests the public to be aware if doctors continue to prescribe those drugs.

Islandwide reports of dengue patients have amounted to 36 209 during the past 7 months of this year. 1470 dengue patients have been reported during this month.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]