One tender. Two power companies. Two power plants

One tender. Two power companies. Two power plants

Written by Staff Writer

10 Apr, 2019 | 10:14 pm

Colombo (News 1st): Minister of Power, Energy and Business Development Ravi Karunanayake assures that there will be no power cuts from tonight (April 10).

Minister Ravi Karunanayake noted that he has given a word to implement it and they have acted according to a plan resolving the issue. He said he has not made this statement because of the vacation and noted that there will be no power cuts from midnight today.

When journalists questioned if the decisions he made affects the electricity bills of the consumer, he noted that when he assumed duties he said the domestic prices will not increase. He added that it won’t change unless they reduce it.

The cabinet has granted approval to purchase additional power of 100 MW to ensure the uninterrupted supply of power. Accordingly, 34 MW of power will be purchased for the Pallekele and Galle Grid Sub Stations from Agrico International Project Ltd. at a cost of Rs. 30.20 cents per KW.

Cabinet approval has been granted to purchase 10 MW for the Mahiyanganaya Grid Sub Station at a cost of             Rs. 30.58 cents per KW and 8 MW for the Polonnaruwa Grid Sub Station at a cost of Rs. 30.63 cents from Altaaqa Alternative Solutions Company Limited.

24 MW will be purchased from T-Power at a cost of Rs. 28.43 cents for the Hambantota Sub Station. T-Power will also provide 24 MW to the Horana Grid Sub Station at a cost of Rs. 28.70 cents.

Meanwhile, cabinet approval was also granted to appoint a committee headed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe to present short, medium and long term recommendations for an uninterrupted supply of power.

The committee comprises of Mangala Samaraweera, Ravi Karunanayake, Kabir Hashim and Sagala Ratnayake.

Minister Karunanayake noted that what’s left to do is providing a permanent solution to this by generating power at a lower cost without burdening the general public. He said a solution was given at the cabinet meeting in the presence of the President and Prime Minister 2 days ago.

He went onto note that the government is to construct 6 to 7 new thermal power plants which will begin before June 30 2019. He said the program will also include the construction of a number of coal and solar power plants.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]