No cabinet positions for SLFPers

No cabinet positions for SLFPers

Written by Staff Writer

20 Dec, 2018 | 8:52 pm

Colombo (News1st): The cabinet has been limited to 30 ministers. Accordingly, 29 ministers were appointed to the cabinet today (December 20), but none of the SLFP MPs who crossed over received any ministerial portfolios.

UPFA MPs A. H. M. Fowzie, Wijith Wijayamuni Zoysa, Piyasena Gamage, Lakshman Seneviratne, Manusha Nanayakkara, and Indika Bandaranayake have already taken steps to extend their support to the ruling party.

Speaking to the media MP Wijith Wijayamuni Zoysa stated that he is neither a Minister nor a Deputy minister, however, he joined the ruling party and therefore will extend his support to them. He noted that even though he was appointed through the SLFP he cannot allow the country to be destroyed.

Another crossover MP A. H. M. Fowzie stated that they did not join the ruling party expecting ministerial portfolios. He noted that the only reason was to strengthen democracy in the country. MP Fowzie stated that even though the Prime Minister had tried to offer him a ministerial position, the president had opposed it.

MP Indika Bandaranayake stated that he had met with the President and explained all facts regarding the current situation and the decision to crossover was made with his blessings.

Minister Mangala Samaraweera noted that the obstacle that is keeping them from providing ministerial position is the court order. He noted that the court order prevents ministers of the former cabinet to assume duties in the new cabinet. Therefore he said they hope to remove the court order in January next year and to provide ministerial positions to Vijithamuni Soysa and other SLFPers.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]