17 government bodies assigned to the President

17 government bodies assigned to the President

Written by Staff Writer

09 Nov, 2018 | 1:32 pm

Colombo (News 1st) – Sri Lanka Police which was controlled by the Ministry of Law and Order has been moved under the purview of the Minister of Defense.

A gazette notification announcing the distribution of subjects for respective ministers notes that 17 government bodies including the 03 armed forces, Civil Security Department, National Cadet Corps, Department of Coast Conservation & National Media Center have been assigned to the Ministry of Defense under President Maithripala Sirisena.

The Central Bank of Sri Lanka, State Banks and it’s associated companies, the Public Utilities Commission of Sri Lanka have been moved under the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs of which Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa is the subject Minister.

Under the previous government, the Central Bank of Sri Lanka was under the  National Policies and Economic Affairs Ministry of which Ranil Wickramasinghe was the Minister.

Sri Lankan Airlines & Mihin Lanka which were under the Minister of Public Enterprises are now under Nimal Siripala De Silva who is the Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation.

Meanwhile, Wimal Weerawansa was sworn in today as the Minister of Housing and Social Welfare

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]