President meets with TNA and other Tamil MPs

President meets with TNA and other Tamil MPs

Written by Staff Writer

07 Nov, 2018 | 9:50 pm

Colombo (News1st): The Parliamentarians of the Tamil Progressive Alliance met with President Maithripala Sirisena at the President’s Official Residence this morning (November 07).

Parliamentarians Mano Ganeshan, Palani Digambaram, V. Radakrishnan, Velukumar, Mayilwaganam Thilakaraj, and Aravinda Kumar attended this meeting. Following the meeting, the Parliamentarians said they attended the meeting upon a request made by the President.

Speaking to the media UNP MP P. Digambaran said if they crossed over for money they would be betraying the people of the country. He added that they informed the president that the six people in the alliance will stand on the side of democracy.

A group of Tamil National Alliance Parliamentarians led by opposition leader R Sampanthan also met with the president at his official residence today (November 07). M.A Sumanthiran, Selvam Adeikalanathan, and Dharmalingam Siddarthan attended the meeting.

Speaking to the media later, TNA MP Dharmalingam Siddarthan said they have not taken any decision as of yet. He added that the President informed them of his stance and vice versa.

MP Siddarthan said if a no-confidence motion is brought against the Prime Minister they will vote in favor of it. He noted that they informed the president about this as well.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]