Mihin Board of Directors appointed without cabinet approval

Mihin Board of Directors appointed without cabinet approval

Written by Staff Writer

16 Oct, 2018 | 9:04 pm

Colombo (News1st): The Presidential Commission of Inquiry on irregularities at SriLanakan Airlines, SriLankan Catering and Mihin Lanka convened once again today (October 16).

Testifying before the commission today was the Director of the Department of Public Enterprise Champa Balasuriya. She revealed that the first board of directors for Mihin Lanka was appointed on the 15th of December 2006, a week prior to cabinet approval, upon instructions provided by the Former Secretary to the President Lalith Weeratunge.

As per section 78 of the former airline’s articles of association, the power to appoint members to the board was vested in the Minister of Ports and Aviation.

Abusing power and making decisions beyond his scope of authority, Lalith Weeratunge, had instructed the appointment of Gotabhaya Rajapaksa as Chairman, Sajin Vass Gunawardena as CEO, Roshan Goonetileke, Surendra Ediriweera, Chandana Liyanapatabendi, Samantha Samaratunge and himself as directors.

However, it was brought to the attention that in 2008, Mihin Lanka’s articles of association, was amended, and power vested in the Minister of Ports and Aviation to appoint board members, was transferred to the Secretary to the Treasury, then Dr. P. B. Jayasundera.

It was questioned during the commission, as to how such powers were vested in the treasury when such decisions should be implemented under the purview of the ministry of aviation.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]