2nd Session of the 8th Parliament to convene tomorrow

2nd Session of the 8th Parliament to convene tomorrow

2nd Session of the 8th Parliament to convene tomorrow

Written by Staff Writer

07 May, 2018 | 8:14 pm

COLOMBO (News 1st) – The 2nd session of the 8th Parliament will commence at 2:15 PM tomorrow (May 8) under the auspices of President Maithripala Sirisena. Parliament was prorogued effective midnight on the 12th of April 2018 in line with powers vested in the President under the constitution.

Tomorrow’s sitting of parliament will commence with a customary ceremony. The President and First Lady will arrive at Parliament at 1:40 PM. Subsequently, the President’s Standard will be hoisted followed by the salutation.

As per parliamentary tradition, the quorum bell will be rung at 2:10 PM following which MP’s will take their seats. The Speaker, the Secretary-General of Parliament and the President will then enter the chamber following which the President will be seated in a special chair which will be set up at the position usually occupied by the Speaker.  The President will then address parliament marking the beginning of the sitting.

Deputy Serjeant-at-Arms, Narendra Fernando said at present they do not use the term Throne Speech anymore as it is the case under the Soulbury constitution. However, he stated that under the current law, the President makes what is called a policy statement at the maiden sitting, in this instance, the term that they are using is the “Address of His Excellency the President”

Furthermore, he said as per a decision made at the party leaders meeting, a debate on this address will be held on Thursday (May 10) where the members will simply express their views on the address.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]