India registers their first victory at Nidahas Trophy

India registers their first victory at Nidahas Trophy

By Hansi Sandeepika

09 Mar, 2018 | 8:38 am

COLOMBO (News 1st) – India registered their first win of the Nidahas Trophy T20 campaign as they beat Bangladesh by 6 wickets at the R. Premadasa Stadium, yesterday (08).

Winning the toss, the Indian skipper Rohit Sharma invited Bangladesh to bat first. Bangladesh couldn’t take a good start as they lost their wickets at regular intervals. Liton Das and Sabbir Rahman built up a 35 runs partnership helping them to score 139 runs in their quota of 20 overs with the loss of 8 wickets. Liton Das scored 34 runs as the top scorer, while middle-order batsman Sabbir Rahman chipped with 30 runs. Jaydev Unadkat (3/38) and Vijay Shankar (2/32) shared 5 wickets between them to help India restrict Bangladesh to a low score.

India chased the target of 140 runs with 8 deliveries to spare with only 4 wickets. Shikhar Dhawan registered the second half-century of the tournament by scoring 55 runs off 43 deliveries, including 5 boundaries and 2 sixes. The first 2 wickets of India lost in 6 overs for 40 runs. However, opener Shikhar Dhawan and Suresh Raina managed to strengthen the run chase by building a match-winning partnership of 68 runs for the 3rd wicket. Raina scored 28 runs off 27 deliveries. Manish Pandey scored unbeaten 27 runs.