LG elections: Voting concludes

LG elections: Voting concludes

LG elections: Voting concludes

Written by Staff Writer

10 Feb, 2018 | 7:31 am

UPDATE – The voting of the Local Government Election held under a mixed system for the first time in Sri Lanka concluded few moments ago.

10,576,862 people are eligible to cast their vote at this election.

The Local Government Election is being held this year to appoint 8,356 members for 340 local government bodies. These include 40 Urban Councils, 24 Municipal Councils and 276 Pradeshiya Sabhas.

57,252 candidates are competing at the Local Government Election, today.

The election will be held at 13,374 election centres countrwide this year.

A number of significant changes have been made to the 2018 Local Government Election that is being held under the mixed system.

Accordingly, there is a considerable increase in the number of local government bodies and the number of members for each body.

Under the new system, 335 local government bodies that have been functioning so far has increased to 341. The Polonnaruwa Municipal Council, Millaniya, Norwood, Agarapathana, Kotagala and Maskeliya local government bodies have been newly added.

Meanwhile, due to the Supreme Court injunction that was issued on January 30, the Local Government Election will not be held for the Elpitiya Pradeshiya Sabha.

The order was issued preventing the Elpitiya Pradeshiya Sabha from holding the Local Government Election due to an issue regarding nominations.

The Elections Commission notes that the ballot paper the voters will receive will include the names of the political parties and independent parties contesting the election from the respective electoral division.

Chairman of the Elections Commission, Mahinda Deshapriya, said names of candidates or their numbers will not be included in the ballot papers adding that voters should cast their vote by marking one cross in front of the political party or the independent party based on the voter’s like. He further requested the general public to cast their vote as early as possible.

The Elections Commissioner said they expect to start the issuance of election results from 8:30 p.m onwards.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]