Today marks 70 years of Independence for Sri Lanka

Today marks 70 years of Independence for Sri Lanka

Today marks 70 years of Independence for Sri Lanka

Written by Lahiru Fernando

04 Feb, 2018 | 6:00 am

Today, February 4, the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka marks 70 years of Independence.

Seventy years ago, Sri Lanka, or Ceylon, as known back then- was under British rule before being restored of her freedom.

Over the years, our island nation was colonised by many foreign rulers by the likes of Portuguese, Dutch and finally the British.

However, Sri Lanka regained freedom with the help freedom fighters including;

  • Junius Richard Jayawardene
  • Dudley Senanayake
  • Anagarika Dharmapala
  • Dr. C. A. Hewavitarne
  • Arthur V Dias
  • H. M. Amarasuriya
  • Dr. W. A. de Silva
  • Baron Jayatilaka
  • Edwin Wijeyeratne
  • A. E. Goonesinghe
  • John Silva
  • Piyadasa Sirisena

The struggle for Freedom

It all began after the local nobles and kings lost their autonomous power over the island, which meant that local production was at the hands of the British empire before 1948.

Sri Lanka, by all means, spearheaded its fight for freedom through its peaceful political movement.

Though Sri Lanka won her freedom, the country remained a dominion for the next 24 years, before it was fully given its republic status in 1972.



Ordinary Level students are requested to contact the Department of Examination on 1911 if they encounter any issues with their admission. | The IGP has terminated the transfer of IP Nishantha Silva of the CID. | Sri Lanka will face difficulties in meeting state expenses from the 1st of January, 2019. - Former Finance Minister Mangala Samaraweera

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]