TCMOL’s MTV Channel unanimously elected to ABU Administrative Council

TCMOL’s MTV Channel unanimously elected to ABU Administrative Council

Written by Staff Writer

06 Nov, 2017 | 9:40 pm

MTV Channel (Pvt) Ltd. has been unanimously elected to the Asia Pacific Broadcasting Unions’ Administrative Council. MTV is a part of the Capital Maharaja Organisation Limited Media Network.

The election took place at the 54th General Assembly and Associated Meetings of the Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union concluded in Chengdu, Sichuan, China.

“It is a indeed a great honour and privilege to be one of the 17 members appointed to this council. Some members of the council are initially Japan, China and Korea. The Chairman Mr. R. Rajamahendran’s undivided commitment to the industry is what has given MTV and MBC branch a media network to reach this height.  We have been recognised for the commitment that we have shown with regard to transparency, reporters and also, all the other work we do with the media,” said Nedra Weerasinghe, Group Director – Electronic Media Business – TCMOL

“When you do things with your heart it gives you good results. I must thank the Chairman for giving us the courage and support all the way through. All credit goes to him for leading us and showing us how to work in media,”  said Shanthi Bhagirathan, Group Director in-charge of Stein Studios.

The Council consists of 17 of its Full and Additional Full members.

They are elected by members at the Annual General Assembly for a three-year term.

TheAdministrative Council meets twice, yearly, to decide on policy matters, review the Union’s finances and consider current issues facing the Union.

There are over 280 member broadcasters of the Asia Pacific Broadcasting Union in 67 countries spread across the region.

Other ABU Administrative Council members are:

  • National Radio and Television of Afghanistan (RTA)
  • Media Niugini Limited, Papua New Guinea (MNL)
  • Radio and Television of the People’s Republic of China (RTPRC)
  • Radio Republik Indonesia (RRI)
  • Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK)
  • Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting (IRIB)
  • Doordarshan/ Prasar Bharati, India (DD)
  • Nippon Hoso Kyokai, Japan (NHK)
  • Kazmedia Ortalygy Management Company Ltd. (KMO)
  • Korean Broadcasting System (KBS)
  • Radio Television Malaysia (RTM)
  • Teledifusao de Macau (TDM)
  • HUM Network Limited, Pakistan (HUM TV)
  • Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation (SLRC)
  • Turkish Radio and Television Corporation (TRT)
  • National Television and Radio Company of Uzbekistan (MTRK)
  • Vietnam Television (VTV)

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]