Schools in Kolonnawa Education Zone to remain closed

Schools in Kolonnawa Education Zone to remain closed

Schools in Kolonnawa Education Zone to remain closed

Written by Staff Writer

23 May, 2016 | 7:28 am

All schools which come under the purview of the Kolonnawa Educational Zone in the Western Province will be closed on Monday and Tuesday ( May 23rd, 24th) as a result of the inclement weather.

Western Province Minister of Education Ranjith Somawansa said St. Mary’s College, Munidasa Kumaratunga College and Ihala Bomiriya Primary School in the Kaduwela Educational Zone will also be closed on these days.

St. John’s College in Mattakkuliya, Sangabhodi College in Totalanga, Al Hijra Muslim College and Darussalam Muslim College in Maligawatte in the Colombo Educational zone will also be closed.

Western Province Education Minister Ranjith Somawansa added the Malwana Maha Vidyalaya in the Kelaniya Educational zone along with Mayadhunne Maha Vidyalaya, Pahala Hanwella Junior school, Pahangama Roman Catholic College, Thunnana Sumanajothi College, Artigala Junior School, Palthara Junior School , Mullegama Junior School, Batawala Junior School and Panaluwa Junior School in the Homagama Educational Zone will be closed on the aforementioned days.

The Western Province Minister of Education also requested the staff and principals of the schools to report for work if they are not affected by the inclement weather.

He said that measures have been taken to look into the schools that have been damaged and affected by the severe weather.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]