Several new faces in the SLFP central working committee

Several new faces in the SLFP central working committee

Several new faces in the SLFP central working committee

Written by Staff Writer

14 Apr, 2015 | 8:54 pm

Following the removal of four senior members from the central working committee of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), a debate arose on who will be named as their replacements.

The SLFP announced on Tuesday (April 14th) that Minister Arjuna Ranatunga and Chairman of the Kotikawatte – Mulleriyawa Pradeshiya Sabha Prasanna Solangarachchi have been named to the central working committe.

The Media Unit of the Ministry of Ports and Shipping issuing a communique today confirmed that Minister Arjuna Ranatunga has been appointed to the Central Working Committee of the SLFP.

Meanwhile Solnagarachchi speaking to News1st also confirmed his appointment and went on to state that if there is anyone within the party who wants to claim this appointment, on the basis that he/she is more talented and deserving, he would humbly step aside.

MPs T.B.Ekanayake, S.M.Chandrasena, Salinda Dissanayake and Bandula Gunawardena were removed from the SLFP Central Working Committee recently.

The MPs recived the letters in this regard over the past 2 days and S.M.Chandrasena said he hope seek the assistance of court with regard to his dismissal.

Members of the Homagama Pradeshiya Sabha staged a demonstration recently against the decision made to remove MP Bandula Gunawardena from the committee.

When contacted, MP T.B.Ekayanake said that he has received work that the President may revoke the decision that was notified to them via a letter.


Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]