David Coulthard wins Race of Champions

David Coulthard wins Race of Champions

Written by Staff Writer

15 Dec, 2014 | 12:04 pm

David Coulthard won the 2014 Race of Champions in Barbados, defeating Mercedes Formula 1 reserve driver Pascal Wehrlein in the final.

Coulthard, who claimed 13 Grand Prix in his 14 year stint in F1 and became the Runners-Up of the 2001 Formula 1 World Drivers Championship, only needed two races in the best-of-three final to win the series for the first time. The Scot beat Wehrlein by a 1.5s in the first race, driving the ROC Buggy, before holding off a late charge to win the second race in an Ariel Atom.

Romain Grosjean, the defending Champion unfortunately went out early in the group stages while Coulthard knocked the 2003 World Rally Champion and 2014 World Rallycross Champion Petter Solberg at his own game and then the Australian V8 Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup to claim the victory.

David participated in his very first ROC in 2004 alongside 1995 Word Rally Champion and Rally legend Colin McRae. he was eliminated in the quarter-finals of the racing group having taken a time penalty, losing to Heikki Kovalainen.

Latest News