Uva Provincial Council Elections begin

Uva Provincial Council Elections begin

Uva Provincial Council Elections begin

Written by News 1st

20 Sep, 2014 | 7:17 am

Polling of the Uva Provincial Council polls commenced at 7 a.m. Saturday. Thereby, polling will take place in 832 polling stations from 07.00 a.m. to 04.00 p.m. on Saturday.

Nine hundred and forty two thousand, seven hundred and thirty (942,730) voters are deemed eligible to exercise their franchise in the Uva Province this time around out of which 609,966 voters will represent the Badulla District while 332,764 will represent the Moneragala District.

Seven (7) independent parties out of 12 parties will be vying for votes in the Moneragala District.

Fourteen (14) seats will be granted out of three electoral divisions in the Moneragala District.

Three Hundred and Eighteen (318) polling stations have been established in the Moneragala District.

Meanwhile, 18 seats will be granted out of nine electoral divisions in the Badulla District which will host ten political parties and four independent parties.

Speaking to Newsfirst, Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya said it is mandatory for voters to posses a valid identification card when arriving at the polling stations.

He requested all voters to exercise their franchise without fear.

Speaking to News1stthe Elections Commissioner said that secretariat is aiming to release the results of the first postal votes just past  midnight Saturday.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]