Election fever rises as Uva Province prepares for polls

Election fever rises as Uva Province prepares for polls

Written by Staff Writer

16 Sep, 2014 | 9:16 pm

Police Media Spokesperson SSP Ajith Rohana notes that about 11,000 police officers will be deployed in the Uva Province during the elections, to beef up security.

As a security measure, Police Special Task Force personnel are also to be deployed at polling stations.  The police say they have received 69 complaints thus far with regard to the Uva Provincial Council Polls, while 45 persons have been arrested for election law violations.

Although posters and hoardings are removed on a daily basis, election campaigning in the Moneragala District has taken on a new face.

An awareness campaign was held on Monday night to inform people of the distribution of the drought relief package worth Rs.2,500  each. Drought relief was distributed at several locations across the district on Tuesday.

However, tensions flared owing to the long queues and conditions that had been imposed on the drought relief recipients. Divisional Secretaries too were involved in the distribution of drought relief on Tuesday morning to about 13,000 families in the Bibile Administrative Division.

Incidentally, today marks the 197th anniversary of the historic Uva-Wellassa rebellion.

However, instead of paying floral tributes at the rebellion memorial today, residents were made to tear down election campaign posters plastered across the memorial.

As election fever rises, the Uva Province has become the focal point of the country.

Controversy was abound with regard to the allocation of seats in the provincial council, long before the date of the election was announced. A total of 32 councillors are elected from the Badulla and Moneragala Districts to the Uva Provincial Council.

The political party with the highest number of votes also receives two bonus seats. Voters will be able to elect 14 councillors from the Moneragala District and 18 councillors from the Badulla District.

However, in the previous provincial council eleven seats had been allocated for the Moneragala District while 21 seats had been allocated for the Badulla District.

It is notable that three seats formerly for the Badulla district, have been allocated to the Moneragala district this time around. 942, 730 people are registered to vote at Saturday’s election.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]