President Rajapaksa congratulates WT20 champions

President Rajapaksa congratulates WT20 champions

Written by Staff Writer

07 Apr, 2014 | 9:14 pm

President Mahinda Rajapaksa extended his congratulations to the World T20 champions.

A communique issued by the Department of Government Information noted that the President had congratulated skipper Lasith Malinga who led the team to victory in the finals.

The communique reads further that the President also congratulated all the other cricketers including Kumar Sangakkara, for their contribution to the victory.

Extending his congratulations for the victory, Opposition Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe noted that Mahela and Sangakkara had not only made their final farewell to T20 international cricket a beautiful one, but had also made the final match a memorable one.

Issuing a communique, Opposition Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe reminiscing on the 1996 World Cup victory, congratulated the team,  including Lasith Malinga on their becoming world champions.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]