Banned LTTE offshoots in India: reports

Banned LTTE offshoots in India: reports

Written by Staff Writer

07 Apr, 2014 | 8:43 pm

Indian media reports say that thirty two Sri Lankan nationals currently living in India, are among 422 individuals named by the Sri Lankan Government as members of banned LTTE offshoots.

Last week, the government proscribed 16 groups including the LTTE for their alleged terrorism links and prohibited Sri Lankans from making any contact with them.

Some 422 individuals have been listed in a gazette notice published on March 21.

Indian media reported that while 32 Sri Lankan national sresiding in India are among those listed on the gazette notice, only six Indian addresses have been cited.

According to reports, the other individuals on the list are residents of Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland, Thailand, the UK and Sri Lanka.

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]