Pathirana elected Chairman Sri Lanka Cycling Federation

Pathirana elected Chairman Sri Lanka Cycling Federation

Written by Staff Writer

19 Dec, 2013 | 9:49 pm

Former Deputy Inspector General of Police K.P.P . Pathirana was elected to the post of chairman of the Sri Lanka Cycling Federation for the next two years following elections on Thursday.

However,  international cycling Commissioner N. Karunaratne who contested for the position of chairman said that the sport of cycling faced a grave defeat on Thursday. Following the dissolution of the cycling interim committee that had a two year term, elections were held today at the National sports institute.

K.P.P. Pathirana who was appointed to the post of chairman received 69 votes. He had served in the post of chairman previously from 2006 to 2011.

International Cycling Commissioner N. Karunaratne who also contested for the post received 51 votes. Chairman of Sri Lanka Cycling Federation, K.P.P. Pathirana said, ” I should be grateful to the Minister of Sports Mahindananda Aluthgamage for giving me the approval and blessing to contest for this position.

Meanwhile, Candidate for Chairman N. Karunaratne made these comment after the defeat, ” I did not lose. It is the sport of cycling that lost. Cycling which suffered drawbacks for the past 10 years, will suffer a drawback for another 2 years.”

Group Captain Sujeewan Senaratne from the Sri Lanka Air Force was appointed as the Secretary of the National Cycling Federations while Sunil Bandara was elected as the treasurer.


Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]