Messi and  Ronaldo win at La Liga Awards

Messi and Ronaldo win at La Liga Awards

Messi and Ronaldo win at La Liga Awards

Written by Staff Writer

03 Dec, 2013 | 6:58 pm

Cristiano Ronaldo has been chosen as the Spanish top flight’s ‘Most Valuable Player’ for the 2012-13 season, but Lionel Messi has won the more prestigious awards for La Liga’s best player and best attacker after having guided Barcelona to the title despite recurring injury issues.

Diego Simeone, Sergio Ramos, Andres Iniesta, Iker Casillas, Thibaut Courtois, Asier Illarramendi and Gerard Deulofeu were among those also honoured at a ceremony in Madrid on Monday night, which took place almost six months after the 2012-13 campaign ended.

Messi won the official ‘Player of the Season’ award, and also beat off competition from former Sevilla striker Alvaro Negredo and Ronaldo to take the prize for Best Liga BBVA Forward.

Messi and RonaldoIniesta, won the best attacking midfielder prize beating Madrid’s Isco and former Sevilla winger Jesus Navas .
Atletico Madrid were also recognised, with Simeone winning the award for La Liga’s best coach.

Illarramendi, Madrid’s summer signing from Real Sociedad, also won two awards, for best defensive midfielder — ahead of Benat of Athletic Bilbao and Javi Fuego of Valencia — and for being the ‘breakthrough’ player of the last campaign, ahead of Sevilla’s Alberto Moreno and Leo Baptistao of Atletico.

Madrid defender Ramos saw off competition from Barca’s Jordi Alba and Inigo Martinez of Real Sociedad to be named the best defender.

The award for best goalkeeper went to Thibaut Courtois, ahead of Barca’s Victor Valdes and Malaga’s Willy Caballero, but it was decided to give the LFP Fair Play trophy to Madrid captain Casillas, who has had limited game time since a clash of personalities with then Madrid coach Jose Mourinho.

Everton attacker Gerard Deulofeu, on loan from Barcelona, was named as the Segunda Division’s best player of 2012-13. Elche coach Fran Escriba and defender Edu Albacar, Almeria goalkeeper Esteban and Villarreal midfielder Bruno were also recognised, as were attackers Charles, who is now with Celta Vigo, Vitolo, now of Sevilla, and Chuli, who now plays for Betis.

– Espnfc

Latest News

Are you interested in advertising on our website or video channel
Please contact us at [email protected]